Maynilad installs 3,076 km of pipes since 2007

October 11, 2017

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) installed 15 kilometers of water pipes as of the first half of 2017, bringing total the length of pipes laid since 2007 to 3,076  km. This expands the water company’s distribution line to 7,652 kilometers— 67% longer than the length of the distribution network when Maynilad was re-privatized 10 years ago.
These pipe-laying projects have allowed Maynilad to increase its customer base from only 677,985 accounts in 2006 to 1,336,566 accounts by the first half of 2017. Among these new customers are those who used to rely on deep wells and costly water deliveries from private vendors for their daily water needs.
Of Maynilad’s P 13.2 billion capital expenditure budget for this year, P 1 billion has been allocated for its expansion into still unserved or under-served areas. This involves the construction of a new pumping station and reservoir, and the laying of new pipelines in Caloocan, Valenzuela, Quezon City, Muntinlupa and Cavite.
Moreover, the company is expecting to generate more than 3,000 jobs from its pipe-laying projects for this year alone. These jobs include those generated by the contractors and suppliers of the company.
“We continue to invest in new pipelines and network upgrades to sustain expansion while improving service levels to our existing customers. Our target is to provide 24-hour water supply to 100% of our West Concession area by 2018," said Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez. 
The Maynilad water distribution system is the longest ISO-certified facility of its kind in the Philippines. It stretches from North Caloocan to Cavite Province and delivers over 2,500 million liters of potable water per day. 
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the agent and contractor of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.