Maynilad receives ISO certifications for 19 STPs

May 03, 2018

West Zone Concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) earned ISO certifications in quality, environment, and safety and health management for 19 of its Sewage Treatment Plants (STP) in Muntinlupa, Caloocan, Manila and Quezon City.
Conferred by TUVRheinland Philippines, Inc., Quality Management Systems (ISO 9001:2015), Environmental Management Systems (ISO 14001:2015) and the Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems (OHSAS 18001:2007) certifications verify that Maynilad’s wastewater management processes meet international standards.
These certifications also prove that developed procedures for STP operations are effective in ensuring compliance to government standards of wastewater treatment, and that Maynilad puts a premium on the safety of personnel working inside the STPs.
Maynilad currently maintains and operates 17 STPs, two combined Sewage and Septage Treatment Plants and one Septage Treatment Plant that process wastewater and sludge collected from customers. This is to prevent the pollution of waterways and ensure the preservation of community health.
“Maynilad strives to keep improving processes for enhanced reliability and efficiency of our wastewater services. Attaining these ISO certifications affirms that we are on the right track in our bid to operate world-class wastewater facilities,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez.
Maynilad’s ISO journey started after its re-privatization in 2007 when its Dagat-dagatan Sewage and Septage Treatment Plant in Caloocan became the first wastewater facility of its kind in the Asia Pacific Region to receive triple ISO certifications.
The water company is also the first and only water company in the Philippines to receive the ISO 14064:2006 certification for the verification of its greenhouse gases or carbon footprint quantification and reporting initiative.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base.  It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (certain portions), Caloocan, Pasay, Paranaque, Las Pinas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; Cavite City, and the towns of Bacoor, Imus, Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.