Maynilad to invest P743M for new pumping stations and reservoirs in 2018

May 06, 2018

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is set to invest P743 million this year to build new pumping stations and reservoirs (PSRs) that will boost water pressure for some 87,000 customers and connect one million more to Maynilad’s network.

The new facilities, which will be constructed in Valenzuela and Muntinlupa, will have a combined water storage capacity of 75 million liters, allowing Maynilad to store more water for better supply management in the areas to be served.

Both PSRs will be equipped with high-efficiency pumps that can increase water pressure from the current 7 psi (pounds per square inch) to 16 psi for 22,000 households in Barangays Maysan and Gen. T. de Leon in Valenzuela, and Imus in Cavite. It will also enable Maynilad to bring surface water to residents in these areas who either rely on deep wells for their supply or have limited-to-no-water access.

“We in Maynilad have made it our mission to improve the living conditions of our customers through better water access. Hence, we keep investing in the infrastructure enhancements needed to connect new customers and boost service levels for existing ones,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez.

The new facilities in Valenzuela and Muntinlupa are targeted for completion by the last quarter of 2019. Other new Maynilad PSRs that will start operations this year include those in Bacoor and Imus in Cavite Province.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.