Maynilad completes 116-km pipe replacement in QC

July 18, 2018

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) recently completed the replacement of 116 kilometers of old, leaky pipelines in various areas in Quezon City.

The water company spent P347 million for this pipe replacement project, which seeks to address the problem of leaks and breakages in the 30-year-old distribution system that serves portions of barangays Commonwealth, Holy Spirit, North Fairview, Greater Fairview, Bagbag, Payatas, and Batasan Hills.

Replacing the old secondary and tertiary pipelines in this area allowed Maynilad to recover some 4 million liters of water per day (MLD) that was lost due to leaks. This recovered water is enough to supply the water needs of about 4,000 customers.

The project will also further improve water pressure from an average of seven pounds per square inch (psi) to as much as 16 psi for more than 25,000 households in the area. At 16 psi, water supply can reach the third floor of a house or establishment without the aid of a pump.

This pipe replacement  project will also enable Maynilad to connect about 2,000 new customers to its distribution system. These residents used to depend on expensive water deliveries from vendors for their water needs.

"We are sustaining infrastructure enhancements so that we can recover more supply and improve water pressure for existing customers, even as we connect more areas to our network,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez.

In 2018, Maynilad is implementing pipe replacement projects in various portions of Quezon City, Valenzuela, Malabon, Caloocan, Manila, Pasay, Paranaque, Muntinlupa, and Kawit and Noveleta in Cavite province.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.