Maynilad upgrades treatment capacity of PWTP

July 26, 2018

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) recently upgraded its water treatment plant in Muntinlupa City to enhance supply reliability for its customers in the south.
The P102-million plant upgrade involved the installation of additional Reverse Osmosis (RO) assemblies at Putatan Water Treatment Plant (PWTP), increasing the facility’s RO treatment capacity to 50 million liters per day (MLD)—up from only 30 MLD. Maynilad's PWTP produces an average of 150 MLD of potable water for some 1.2 million Maynilad customers in Muntinlupa, Las Piñas and Cavite.
PWTP uses a multi-stage process to convert raw water from Laguna Lake to potable drinking water. The facility uses its RO treatment process whenever there are spikes in Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) in the lake water. Given the limited RO treatment capacity, PWTP often had to reduce water production with every shift in the lake’s raw water quality.
With the recent installation of additional RO assemblies at PWTP, Maynilad can better sustain the facility’s production levels despite the varying quality of raw water from Laguna Lake.
“Sudden shifts in raw water quality are one of the manifestations of the impact of climate change. Hence, we need to constantly upgrade our facility’s treatment capacity to keep our water production stable and ensure uninterrupted supply for our customers,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez.
Maynilad is also currently constructing a second water treatment plant in Muntinlupa, which will provide an additional 150 MLD of potable water for the south where some areas still remain unserved and under-served. 
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the agent and contractor of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.