Maynilad starts operating its P1.7B Parañaque STP

January 21, 2019

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) recently began operating its newly constructed P1.7-billion sewage treatment plant (STP) in San Dionisio, Parañaque City.
“Maynilad has always been supportive of government’s move to clean up Manila Bay. Building new STPs is in line with this initiative, and the Parañaque Water Reclamation Facility is now our 22nd wastewater treatment facility in the West Zone. This is part of the P23.3 billion we have already invested since 2007 to improve wastewater infrastructure in our concession area,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez.
The new Parañaque Water Reclamation Facility can treat up to 76,000 cubic meters of wastewater per day, and will help ease pollution loading in Manila Bay. It can serve about 500,000 households in Barangays San Dionisio, Sto. Niño, San Isidro, Moonwalk, San Antonio, Marcelo Green, BF, La Huerta, and Don Bosco in Parañaque City.
The facility, which is part of Maynilad’s program to expedite the provision of sewerage and sanitation services in Metro Manila, is funded by the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) through the Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP).
With the completion of the STP in Parañaque, Maynilad now operates 19 Sewage Treatment Plants, two Sewage and Septage Treatment Plants, and one Septage Treatment Plant with a combined treatment capacity of an estimated 662,000 cubic meters of wastewater per day.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.