Maynilad honors 21 water champions at the 5th World Water Day Awards

March 28, 2019

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad), together with the National Water Resources Board (NWRB) and Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), honored 21 new water champions at the World Water Day Awards 2019 (WWD.PH)—the culminating event of the week-long celebration of World Water Day.
Now on its fifth year, the WWD.PH Awards recognizes individuals, institutions and projects that persistently made efforts in achieving water and environmental sustainability for every Filipino.
This year’s awardees for “solid waste management and water resources protection” include the Biñan City Centralized Material Recovery, Waste Processing and Transfer Station, and the Sta. Rosa Sub-Watershed Management Council—both of Laguna; and the “Yes to Green” Program of Rizal.
The water districts of Baguio, Metro Naga, Silay City, and Isabela City in Basilan; St. Luke’s Medical Center Quezon City, Don Pepe Henson Enterprises Inc., Davao City Watershed Management Council, Pampanga River Basin Committee, Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH)-Camarines Norte District Engineering Office, Community Environment and Natural Resources Office-Malabon City, and the Philippine Science High School-Main Campus were recognized for their “water management, environmental conservation and education” efforts.
Meanwhile, the General Nakar Sustainable Integrated Area Development Project, Ipo Watershed Bantay Gubat, and Save La Mesa Watershed Project were the “outstanding projects” awarded this year.
Joining the roster of WWD.PH awardees for individual leadership are Alberto “Toto” Malvar of the Mount Purro Nature Reserve in Antipolo, Rizal; Franco Rino C. Apoyon, Senior High School teacher of Kabasalan National High School in Zamboanga Sibugay, and Arman Jay B. Dudas, team leader, MIMAROPA Young Leaders; and Jose Antonio “Pepeton” E. Goitia, Pasig River Rehabilitation Commission Executive Director.
Among the member-organizations of the award-giving body are the Laguna Lake Development Authority, Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System, Local Water Utilities Administration, Department of Public Works and Highways, and Aboitiz InfraCapital. 

Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez expressed his gratitude to the water champions for their commitment to the noble cause and for living by example.  “Being the Earth’s stewards, we are all responsible for building a world that is not only livable in the present, but also for the future. We thank you for your commitment to this cause and we salute you for providing an example for us to follow. May your contributions continue to inspire more Filipinos to do their share for Mother Earth and our countrymen,” he said.
IN PHOTO:  Pasig River Rehabilitation Commission Executive Director Jose Antonio “Pepeton” Goitia (5th from left, joined by his wife Catleya Goitia) is one of the awardees in this year’s World Water Day Awards. With them are Maynilad Chief Finance Officer Ricardo De Los Reyes (leftmost), NWRB Executive Director Sevillo David Jr. (3rd from left), and Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles (4th from left).